The Town Mayor

Chris Johnson Mayor

Present and Past Town Mayors

2023/24 Councillor Chris Johnson – elected May 2023

2022/23 Councillor Philip Martin – elected May 2022

2021/22 Councillor Philip Martin – elected May 2021

2020/21 Councillor Philip Martin – elected September 2020

2019/20 Councillor Glyn Hibbert – elected May 2019

2018/19 Councillor Glyn Hibbert – elected May 2018

2017/18 Councillor John Heasman – elected May 2017

2016/17 Councillor John Heasman – elected March 2016

2015/16 Councillor Grahame Ward – elected May 2015

2014/15 Councillor Tony Hutt – elected May 2014

2013/14 Councillor Tony Hutt – elected May 2013

2012/13 Councillor David Callahan

2011/12 Councillor David Callahan

About the Town Mayor

The Town Mayor is the first citizen of Hawkinge. Town Councillors elect the Town Mayor annually. The Mayor-making ceremony takes place in early May at the annual council meeting. The Town Mayor is elected to office for one year.

The Town Mayor chairs the council’s meetings and represents the town at civic and ceremonial functions. During the mayoral year, the Town Mayor will attend many different functions.

The Town Mayor acts as an ambassador for Hawkinge, promoting and upholding the character of the town and supporting community groups and projects.

Every year the Town Mayor chooses a charity for which he/she wishes to raise funds during the mayoral year.

History of the Mayoral role

The office of Mayor was brought to this country by the Normans in the 11th century and the word ‘Mayor’ derives from the Latin word ‘maior’ meaning greater.

The Mayor has always been acknowledged as the ‘First Citizen’.

Inviting the Town Mayor to your event

To invite the Town Mayor to visit or to open an event such as a fete, AGM, concert, or building, please email: enquiries@hawkinge-tc.gov.uk